2011 Football Award winners announced

Former Beaver wide receiver James Rodgers was presented the 2011 Oregon State University football Team Award at last weekend's banquet in the Club Level at Reser Stadium.
Head Coach Mike Riley made the announcement near the end of the two-hour banquet that was attended by several noteworthy Beaver alumni, including Derek Anderson, Bill Swancutt, Jared Cornell, Taylor Kavanaugh, Keaton Kristick, Kyle DeVan, Stephen Paea and Jacquizz Rodgers. OSU President Ed Ray was also in attendance along with several other campus leaders.
Rodgers set OSU records for career receptions (222), all-purpose yards (6,377), and yards per punt return (13.7). He also is among OSU career leaders for kickoff return yards (2,124), touchdowns receiving (19) and kickoff return yards per attempt (24.7).
Former defensive tackle Kevin Frahm was the recipient of the team's Lunch Bucket Award, presented annually to the player who shows the greatest commitment to the program as voted on by team members. Frahm, a co-team captain for the '11 season, was a four-year letterman and earned Pac-10/12 First Team Academic honors three times.
Sophomores Sean Mannion and Scott Crichton, both freshman All-America honorees last year, shared the Most Improved Player award. Mannion became the starting quarterback in game three of last season and went on to pass for 3,328 yards, the third-most in school history. Crichton forced an OSU record six fumbles on his way to one of the best seasons ever for a Beaver first-year defensive end with 74 tackles.
True freshmen Naji Patrick and Storm Woods shared the MVP honors for the offensive scout teams, Will Storey earned honors for the defensive scout team and Peter Ashton for special teams scout award.
Oregon State opens spring practice April 3 with Fan Fest scheduled for April 28 at Reser Stadium.